When the lights go down

I wonder if others have this problem at the theatre. No matter how confident I am in the performers’ abilities, no matter how much I love the play, no matter how strong my anticipation for the experience, I always feel awkward during the first couple of minutes of a play. I’m distracted by the artificiality of the props, but mostly it’s adjusting to stage acting instead of everyday conversation. I watched Deathtrap last night at Lost Nation Theatre in Montpelier. It was a fine performance all around of a play that’s always fun, but still . . . that first couple of minutes felt strained. Do others feel this awkwardness when the lights go down?

Leave a Reply

