Information for new friends and old

Swiped from Maddie.

You know how sometimes people on your friends list post about stuff going on in their life, and all of a sudden you think “Wait a minute? Since when were they working THERE? Since when were they dating HIM/HER? Since when?” And then you wonder how you could have missed all that seemingly pretty standard information, but somehow you feel too ashamed to ask for clarification because it seems like info you should already know? It happens to all of us sometimes.

Please copy the topics below, erase my answers and put yours in their place, and then post it in your journal! Please elaborate on the questions that would benefit from elaboration. One-Word-Answers seldom help anyone out.

NAMES:
Real name: Joseph C Weinmunson III
Online handle: litlfrog, pretty much everywhere. Chosen when I needed an e-mail address that was 8 characters or less, inspired by an evening of debauchery in which I spent much of the night pretending to be a talking frog mascot for a wildlife organization

AGE: 40.
BIRTHDATE: August 19, 1969.

LOCATION: Plainfield, a small , close-knit village in rural Vermont. Originally from the ‘burbs around New Orleans. Spent most of my youth in Natchitoches, a small Southern town that under different names provides the setting for Steel Magnolias and True Blood.

OCCUPATION: Tech support at a small Internet Service Provider. Also do some computer repair and web design on the side.

PARTNER: Suri Weinmunson (neé Geske). We met in Janet Sturman’s ethnomusicology class at Louisiana Scholars’ College. Suri initially thought I was a gay, know-it-all windbag, but I guess she changed her mind. 🙂

KIDS: None, though I do like kids.

PETS: Kim, a beautiful, sleepy, well-behaved gray cat. Soft, plump, around 10 years old. And then there’s Aimee, a 10-month-old tortoiseshell who can go from sweet kitten to wild-eyed destructive pixie hunter in no time flat.

SIBLINGS: One brother, Les. He lives in Irving, TX with his family. We’re not that similar, though we get along fine these days. I take after my dad, Les takes after our quiet, country maternal grandfather.

PARENTS: Dad, Joe, died in the summer of 2001. I’m very like him, in good ways and bad. My mom is 68 and very lively; lives in the house in which she grew up outside Natchitoches. A sweet, admirable woman, even though I think she was a Randian in her youth. 🙂

List the 3 to 5 biggest things going on in your life

1. Commuting. I list this first because I have an hour commute to work each way; it means that five days a week my time is far more restricted than I would like. I feel like I have to compress too much life into too little time.

2. Web design. I wear a lot of different hats in IT work, but it’s web design that I enjoy most. I’m finally getting to the point where my understanding of XHTML and CSS has become ingrained and accessible.

3. Music. The easy availability of online music is letting me rebuild, organize, and share my music after an unfortunate hard drive crash. My appetite for new music has only grown with age, and streaming radio stations have made me more connected with a broader alternative culture than I ever was at 20 years old.

4. Being 40 g-dd–ned years old. I have no patience with midlife crisis films and no desire to emulate their sad, self-absorbed protagonists. I’m limiting my self-reflection to a desire to stop wasting time and a somewhat sincere effort to improve my health.

What else should people know?

My Christian upbringing worked at least this far: I’m compassionate and tend to believe the best of people until proven otherwise.

As a corollary to this, when I have contempt for someone I’ve met personally it tends to be quite strong. If even I can’t like you, there must really be something wrong with you!

Despite being a big guy, I love dancing. When I’m in practice and not nursing a shoulder or knee injury, I’m even pretty good at lindy hop.

I’m a huge geek, by most definitions of the word. I’ve long outgrown my adolescent social awkwardness, but I enjoy a wide variety of geeky media and pursuits: tabletop roleplaying games, science fiction and fantasy novels, films, and TV shows, comic books, working on computers, science/technology news, videogames, etc.

Stuff I’m not into, that I don’t care if you’re into
Most anime. There are a few that I like quite a bit, but I’m puzzled by people whose media diet consists almost entirely of imported Japanese animation.

Sports. I can watch and enjoy a game every once in a while, but I completely don’t understand identifying with a particular team and following them all season long.

Other stuff I’m into

Mixology, especially tiki cocktails; twee pop; So You Think You Can Dance; hamburgers; mysteries, especially good historical mysteries; Sid Meier’s Civilization games; martial arts movies (hop and chop!); first-person shooters, though I kinda suck at them; trying different world cuisines; easy hikes in the woods

Leave a Reply

