Adventures in exotic flavor

Well, they can’t all be home runs. I experimented with a couple of new products from Gagan Indian grocery store in South Burlington. I’d never heard of Rooh Afza, a sweet beverage concentrate designed to be mixed with water, milk, soda, etc. I’m at work so I just mixed it with cold water. The floral overtones are a little strong for me and there’s quite a bit of  the stuff; I couldn’t stand to just waste it. I’m hoping that I’ll find it more enjoyable either in a lassi or mixed with soda, lime, and vodka.

Haldiram’s “nut crackers” (spiced, fried peanuts) are better, but awfully spicy. I’m thinking these are almost all going to be for Suri. Her taste buds can handle more fire than mine, and they’re a really low-carb snack anyway.

Leave a Reply

