MMO bug

I’m really, really missing playing an MMORPG all of a sudden. I enjoyed WoW for years, but ran into a big wall when my main character hit the level cap. The most active, challenging part of World of Warcraft is the endgame raids–and those are REALLY challenging. To prepare for raiding I’d have to do all the level 80 dungeons several times to gear up and get practice, then do the heroic versions of those same dungeons. Given my schedule, it just got too difficult to organize a regular dungeon run with players who were already busy raiding for their own stuff.

What of other games? Champions Online is a great idea marred by crippling bugs and incompetent testing. Pirates of the Burning Sea was probably the best possible setting for an MMO, with inbuilt factions, frequent combat, and an economic aspect, but they provided next to no tutorials and couldn’t fix borked economy and land combat systems. Age of Conan is getting better, but still has ridiculous graphic bugs a year and a half on and hasn’t built up its player base enough to make me want to invest my time.

Sigh. I wish there was a solution for this, but I’m really not seeing one. The game I’ve enjoyed the most is WoW, but I’ve gotten to the point where there’s no enjoyable solo material left and I’m crippled by needing to devote several hours at a time AND plan a week in advance to do anything in a group.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
One thought on “MMO bug

  1. drscorpio says:

    I got years more of play out of WoW by playing alts.
    Every class levels a little differently, so there is a lot to burn through before there is no new content. Especially if you try playing the other faction. There are lots of Alliance favorable zones for levels 15 – 30 that I have still not played through being a devoted Hordie.

    The sad fact is no one has done an MMO with as much polish as WoW. It makes it hard to enjoy the other games. I was really disappointed with Star Trek Online (although my experience with Champions Online should have prepared me for the let down).

Leave a Reply

