Writing blog posts

For whatever reason I’ve found regular writing more difficult over the last few years. A friend of mine writes in advance and sets up scheduled posts for every day, and most of them are pretty darn good. drscorpio gently pointed out that a Scholars’ College graduate like myself should have little trouble coming up with a few paragraphs for a blog post–and he’s absolutely right. I’m not sure what’s changed. My attention span is generally shorter now that I’m watching television more often than reading James Joyce, but I ALWAYS loved TV. The most formidable problem is feeling rushed and pressured, even though I know perfectly well that no one’s out there waiting with bated breath for me to write about the cultural contributions of Gamera, or how the Fucked Up song “Anorak City” is simultaneously great hardcore and a sly nod to the C86 scene, or that I continue to drive broke-ass cars. In any case, I’ve determined to write more frequently. The Duke of Wellington held that “Habit is ten times nature,” and it’s one of the truest sayings I know. Perhaps what I most need to ease the act of writing is writing itself.

3 thoughts on “Writing blog posts

  1. Tyler says:

    Scheduling posts really makes a difference. Once you build up a buffer, you can write as ideas come to you, rather than struggling to keep up on a daily basis.

  2. Lies. Ok, no, you’re right. Someone I don’t have the patience to look up said something akin to, “The secret of writing is to write.”

    Blogging is like public journaling to me, but I know for a fact that no one needs to read the fucked up crackhead ramblings that I write in most of my journals. I find that bad habits are much easier to cultivate than good ones, so good luck with your blogging endeavors!

  3. Charlton says:

    I stopped blogging mainly because I felt I was shouting into an empty room.

    I can come up with four interesting paragraphs without a problem, but if I’m not going to get any feedback or any sense of an ongoing conversation, those four paragraphs are better off in my journal, where the range of topics isn’t as constrained because it’s not open to the wide anonymous public and where, as the point of the writing is working out the idea and not communicating it to others, the standards for polish are rather different.

Leave a Reply

