Holidays vs. gaming

One thing to dislike about December: the lack of opportunity to roleplay. It’s hard enough to get grownups from three or four separate households together for several hours at the best of times. Add in travel, cocktail parties, shopping, wrapping, the post office, and office parties and it gets nigh-impossible. We’re smack dab in the middle of a fun game of the Committee for the Exploration of Mysteries–not something we wanted to take a long break from, but it’s the way the chips fell. I’m also running an occasional Trail of Cthulhu game for friends in Jericho. It’s going well, though more slowly than I would have thought. I even have folks specifically asking me to run a game of All Flesh Must Be Eaten, so I need to work with them to figure out how far along the zombie apocalypse has gotten when our game begins.

All this cornucopia of specific games I’m trying to fit in is occupying the portion of my brain that’s usually taken up by dreams of games I might never run. That’s not a bad thing, but it feels odd. I usually have at least two games that I’m absolutely DYING to play, but that for one reason or another may never come off. On some level I know that I want to try Blowback, Day After Ragnarok, and The Kerberos Club. Unusually, I’m NOT writing up sample characters and adventures while I watch TV at night. And oh yeah, there’s all those games I already play in or have run before! Uncreated, cliffhangers, Harn, steampunk, Transhuman Space, even the abortive Blue Rose campaign of a few years back. I guess having a specific outlet for things this immediate enough is so unusual that I’m not quite sure how to handle it.

2 thoughts on “Holidays vs. gaming

  1. Siobhan says:

    grrrr we all need to be independently wealthy!

    HOW on EARTH can people be BORED?! I can’t remember the last time I was truly bored (and not just sick or low on energy, which isn’t the same thing).

  2. Tyler says:

    Just lie back and revel in your abundance of gaming. There’s always a dry spell ahead, but now you’ve got something to look back on and ideas in your pocket to mull over.

Leave a Reply

