Day 06 – A song that reminds you of somewhere

This is the earliest song I remember: “Band On the Run” by Paul McCartney and Wings.

This one always makes me think of my dad’s first apartment after he and my mom divorced. He got a studio with beautiful hardwood floors and a huge armoire. This was down in Algiers, just across the river from New Orleans. I remember a burnished glow about the place and weekends with my father as he practiced this song on the guitar. I don’t know if he could even play guitar before; I think this was one of the first songs he learned aside from studies in practice books.  Even at that young an age, I remember loving the interesting harmonies and different time shifts. Apparently I liked prog rock even as a toddler. 🙂

Leave a Reply

