Day 07 – A song that reminds you of a certain event

“Candle in the Wind”! No, just kidding. Some of you might know this story, but the song I most connect with specific events is Stevie Wonder’s “Isn’t She Lovely.”

When I was a kid, my dad was in a successful wedding band called the Esquires. I’d often spend weekends with Papa Joe, but of course that’s when they worked! So I’d come along to the weddings they were playing. This song is what the band always played right before taking a break. So to me, this song is associated with dozens of wedding receptions of people I never knew; a time to get up and snarf chicken wings and finger sandwiches; a time to hug my dad and hang out with the guys in the band. To this day, hearing this song makes me seriously hungry. The first time I heard it as a grown-up, I found myself in the kitchen holding the fridge door open with NO memory of how I got there.

Leave a Reply

