Weird in Philly

It’s taken me a long time to decide just how much I like the Philadelphia quartet Man Man. Now that I’ve heard their new album On Oni Pond, I think the answer is “a whole damn lot.” They channel the freaky side of the ’70s–Frank Zappa, Tom Waits, Captain Beefheart–but never sound like they’re rewalking old territory. I love how unexpected the lyrics are, too; when you listen to them the uniqueness hits you, but in reading them later it all holds together wonderfully. ” . . . and open up your chest for me and i will build a house / and peel apart your weathered scars and i will live there like a mouse (meow meow meow meow).” This might be one of the best albums of 2013.

Leave a Reply

