Childhood favorites: the Meters

You know, I think I’d adore the Meters even if they weren’t an ever-present part of my childhood. They made some of the best instrumentals in rock and roll and brought New Orleans regional sounds into the funk and soul mainstream. If you don’t know their work then ask me and I will tell you about their awesomeness ’til I’m blue in the face. This was the very first record I ever bought: the band’s tribute to New Orleans’ Audobon Zoo. “They All Asked For You”!

Leave a Reply

