That’s my JAM #8: I Don’t Wanna Grow Up

If you read the lyrics for this song they’re not complicated. Your average eight-year-old would know all the vocabulary words here. But the way Tom Waits stacks those rhymes and slant rhymes one on another adds to the narrator’s fervor:

I don’t want to have to shout it out
I don’t want my hair to fall out
I don’t want to be filled with doubt
I don’t want to be a good boy scout
I don’t want to have to learn to count
I don’t want to have the biggest amount
I don’t want to grow up

I understand why a lot of people have a hard time getting past Waits’s gravelly voice, but it’s so worth it. When he’s on top of his game he’s one of the best lyricists in the world.

Leave a Reply

